Back
CA212

Kelowna, Canada

Front of house

Front of house

Front of house
Silver

Member since

2002


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
June 01, 2020 - July 15, 2020 28 days

Length of stay is flexible. We would really like an exchange with the Netherlands in June!! The country of our birth.

2 bdrm + den in Kelowna, BC

We are a retired couple, (teaching, social work) living in Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, British Columbia. We have done numerous house exchanges, 9 in all, which have always been most successful.
Kelowna is the largest city in the Valley with a population of appr. 130.000 people. It has grown fast as people like to live here because of the climate, natural beauty and great opportunities for recreational activities. It lies on the east side of Okanagan Lake, which is about 135 km long and 4 or 5 km wide. There are lots of beaches and opportunities for water related activities,
Kelowna has a thriving wine producing culture with over 20 local wineries. There are many restaurants, golf courses and shops.
Our home is in a 45+ community, called Sunrise Village, has all modern conveniences as well as access to a swimming pool and small fitness room at he club house.

We are open to all offers but we would really like an exchange with the Netherlands for June.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • retired teacher/soc.w
  • retired teacher/soc.w

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Total Area: 1400 sq ft

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Netherlands

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: 20 min. drive -

Occupation

  • retired teacher/soc.w
  • retired teacher/soc.w

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are both retired professionals, (soc. work/ teaching) Hank is an avid birder and travels the world to find his feathered friends. We both like the outdoors a lot, walking, hiking, browsing at markets, the artsy things, reading, trying new foods etc.
We have two grown children and four grandchildren. Our daughter and her family live in Calgary, our son and family live in Taiwan.

Kelowna is a medium sized city in the heart of the Okanagan valley in he most westerly province, British Columbia. It has a recreational lake, Okanagan Lake, which runs from Vernon to Penticton ( two other smaller cities), right through Kelowna, and is appr. 150 km. long. Summers are generally warm and dry. Lots of recreational opportunities, both on land as well as on water. It can be a bustling city during summer vacations, but also in winter for winter sports, with Big White as the main attraction.
Kelowna is also known for its many wineries and vineyards.
It is approximately a four hour drive to Vancouver, from where you can also catch ferries to Victoria, British Columbia's capital city and tour this amazing island. (Vancouver Island)
It's a bit farther to the Rockies, driving east, about five to six hours, depending on how far you want to drive.

We are open to all offers, but have a strong wish to visit the country of our birth first, perhaps even this fall.