Cahors, France

the house from the garden

the house from the garden


Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Large, very nice house with garden, in a small town in the heart of the Lot, in a picturesque and touristic region of South West France

The house is located in a very quiet area,
We offer a large, comfortable house on three levels with garden, which allows the occupants not to interfere and be independent.
  The living room contains a piano, available for music lovers. Books, comics, board games and toys will also be available.
One side of the house is attached to a residential building very quiet , the other side overlooks a vegetable garden. Not overlooked on the garden side
Behind the wall is a nursery school playground.
In summer, it is very nice to stay in the garden where are table and chairs for eating. It's also a good place for children games. In the garden: a swing, a sandpit and an inflatable swimming pool. You can also play ping-pong.

And you can, of course, pick the tomatoes of the garden.

Frontage overlooks the street where it is possible to park, but access to the garage of the house is possible.
A farmers' market is held twice a week, on Wednesdays and Saturdays, in the cathedral square, ten minutes walk from the house.

It is very pleasant and easy to walk in the city of Cahors and along the river, on foot , and to go shopping.

You can also go hiking in the country from the house.

The region offers many cultural or sports , no far. .

We think the location of the house is very favorable for all kinds of programs!

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • Psychiatrist Doctor
  • Retired Social Worker

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 3 niveaux
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 6
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 12
  • Living Area: 0 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Toulouse ou Brives la Gaillarde - 110 kms environs

Large bright house, with garden, in a small picturesque town and tourist area allowing various cultural and sporting activities.
Cahors, city-prefecture, is classified city of art and history by the ministry of the culture. It is a city of 20000 inhabitants, nestled in a loop of the river Lot. Its maze of small streets, its medieval houses with ornate facades and Renaissance doors give it a lot of charm.

Our house is located in the city, in a quiet area, five minutes walk from the historic center.
The Lot, gateway to the South West, is a small unspoilt territory that offers an ideal vacation setting. It has incredible natural and heritage treasures

Six communes of the Lot are among the most beautiful villages in France: Cardaillac, Capdenac-le-Haut, the famous village of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Loubressac, Autoire and Carennac, not to mention the impressive site of Rocamadour. The town of Figeac, homeland of Champollion, also deserves a visit with its museum of the Scriptures.

Many castles offer their visit: the beautiful Renaissance castle of Cenevieres, hanging over the Lot and close to Saint Cirq Lapopie, Assier, the castle of Montal, St Cere etc.

The subsoil of the region also contains remarkable ornate grottoes such as the famous grotto of Pech-Merle with its traces of hands, the cave of wonders of Rocamadour, the impressive Gouffre de Padirac.

An original museum in Crayssac allows to discover, in situ, traces of pterosaurs, flying lizards contemporary dinosaurs, which we found footprints engraved in the sand of what was a beach at the time of their flight.

The Ecomuseum of Cuzal recreates the rural life on the Causse in a beautiful and authentic setting: entertainment all summer: threshing wheat, making bread, pastis (traditional cake) etc.

Many festivals offer a nice animation depending on the time of year: cello Belaye in August, Blues in July in Cahors etc.

Sporting activities:

The Lot is an ideal area for hiking with its countless marked trails for short and long hikes in varied landscapes: Causse, river banks, forests etc. (It is possible to walk from the house)

For the amateurs of aquatic activities, several possibilities:

The Lot is partially navigable, possibility to rent small boats or kayaks. The descent of Cele is a real treat: it is a small tributary of the Lot extremely picturesque on which you can sail if the water level is sufficient (on the Lot it is still possible).

It is possible to swim on the banks of rivers, in various lakes with supervised beaches, and of course in various municipal swimming pools including the pool of Cabessut in Cahors.

From July 15 to August 15, there is Cahors-plage (five minutes walk from the house) free entertainment, inflatable games for children and a small pool on the river.

The region offers many cultural or sports outings within an hour's drive .

We think the location of the house is very favorable for all kinds of programs!


  • Psychiatrist Doctor
  • Retired Social Worker


  • We do not have children.


  • chat

About Our Family

We are a couple of 75 and 69 years old: Partially active Psychiatrist and Retired Social Worker, parents of three adult children and grandparents of five grandchildren (15, 12, 10, 6 and 3 years old).
  We like to discover new places, often with our children and grandchildren and we offer a welcome for this type of exchange.

We leave a cat at home, very sweet and kind. Independent animal, it comes and goes from inside to the outside of the house by the window of the garage but it' s possible he goes in other house if you don't like him.


We live in a little town , with a human size. Ours mains occupations are: reading, walking in the country,friends meeting, Cinéma, Theater, music ( singing in a choir) time with the family:children, little children and my mother (95 years old) . We like too also very much go to the market twice by week and cooking local produces.
We enjoy travel in all the world, and we are very interested by architecture, one of ours sons is Patrimonier Architect in Paris, his brother is Theater actor in the Lot, and our daughter is nurse and is working in all the world.