Washington D.C., USA

Front of House.

Front of House.

Car in front of house is included

Car in front of house is included

Living room overlooks backyard

Living room overlooks backyard

Living room

Living room

Living room window overlooks backyard.

Living room window overlooks backyard.

Australia 2013

Australia 2013

Front of House. Car in front of house is included Living room overlooks backyard Living room Living room window overlooks backyard. Australia 2013

Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 15, 2020 - August 30, 2020 4 weeks

I have an exchange in Dublin, Ireland, June 29-July 15 in Dublin, Ireland. Ideally I would like a 2d exchange in Europe during the summer holidays. The beginning date does not have to coincide exactly, as I can easily spend a few days in alternative accomodations somewhere.

Townhouse in Close in Washington, DC, suburb! 71 Exchanges since 1990!

Give me an offer I can't refuse! I have been home exchanging since 1990.

I have an exchange for June 29-July 15, 2020, in the suburbs of Dublin, Ireland. I would be happy to do a 2d exchange in Europe after that exchange if you can work with post July 15th dates. A few days between the exchanges is OK, as I can always go to a hotel for a few days.

I would also entertain an exchange within North America for the fall. I love short distance exchanges where everyone drives but prefer at least 7-10 days.

I want an offers from serious people who are willing to commit to definite dates. I generally want a principal residence--and not a vacation home. Unless you are in a large city with good public transportation, I need a car exchange as well. Please note that I may occasionally consider vacation homes, but they must have internet and have a car included as part of the exchange.

Please note that my townhouse is suitable only for adults. No more small children. I firmly believe that those of you with very small children would be much happier exchanging with someone at your stage of life--not with a retired person. I simply do not have all the toys, etc., to keep children amused.

Pet owners: I do not have pets and will not care for animals on home exchanges. Pets are also NOT welcome in my home.

I own 3 bedroom townhouse in a close in DC suburb. Metro (subway) access is a short drive away and there is paid parking. Fiber optic cable internet and computer use offered in the house. TV is also connected to cable. My car, a 2008 Toyota Prius, is included; it has very low mileage . The GPS (which I provide) has directions to the Metro stop under "favorites". It will also prevent you from getting lost finding the house after you take day trips.

I have done 72 exchanges/hospitality stays. That means I have had a lot of interesting travel experiences. While I rule out nothing, I would love eventual exchanges in South America, Asia and Africa (especially Capetown). In Western Europe I have not home exchanged or visited Portugal or Greece. I have still not been to the Alhambra in Spain. I am, however, willing to go anywhere including places I would be revisiting. Anywhere in Western Europe or North America is always good. I would also, believe it or not, love to swap for 1-2 weeks in New York City, Philadelphia and other Northeastern/MidAtlantic cities. You do not have to go abroad to have a nice break.

I do have a website/blog at with stories of my home exchange adventures. My most recent completed exchange was in Brittany, France.

Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 71 Exchanges made


  • Retired attorney

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Spain
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • USA
  • South Africa
  • United Kingdom
  • Asia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Dulles - 20 miles

  • shopping Grocery and Other Shops (0.9 km)
  • river Potomac River (7.4 km)
  • boating Canoe Rental available (16.8 km)
  • mountains Shenandoah National Park (118.1 km)
  • beach Rehoboth, Delaware, beach (218.2 km)
  • sea Ocean City, MD, beach (259.8 km)

McLean, Virginia, is a quiet upscale suburb of Washington, DC; in 20 minutes by car you are at the monuments, Capitol building or Smithsonian Museums!

Many restaurants and two supermarkets are within walking distance.

Access to Washington's subway system is at McLean station on the Silver Line. If you park across the street from the station, you can park for free.

My street, Pine Hill Road, is a dead end street with almost no traffic.

There is a children's playground in the development, but, again, note that I am retired. My house is not suitable for very young children, as I have cleaned out all the toys, stuffed animals, etc.


  • Retired attorney


  • We do not have children.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

No pets at my place and I do not want responsibility for your pets when I exchange.
No small children please. I am retired and at my stage of life I simply do not have a house which would fit small children well. No more than 4 people in each exchange group--and I would prefer couples.


I am a retired lawyer. I have a lot of guidebooks in the house that you can consult. I love theater, music and the out of doors. I also am a voracious reader. I have exchanged 72 times since 1990.

I am on facebook as Lauren S. Kahn. 

You can also have a look at my personal website if you want more information about me: