Back
GB092375

Southsea, Great Britain

Silver

Member since

2013

Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in Southsea, Great Britain

We are a family of four looking to exchange our recently rennovated three-bedroom characterful Victorian home in Southsea. Matt (45) is a freelance photographer, Charlotte (39) works for the city council, and we have two daughters - Lily (12) and Clara (8) and two friendly ginger cats. We enjoyed successful exchanges in summer 2013 and 2014 and are now open for offers for a week at Easter 2016 or two weeks during July/August 2016. We're interested in European destinations but open to any suggestions, particularly for destinations near good beaches.

Southsea is a quiet residential area of Portsmouth that is a short walk from the beach, and close to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions, including Gunwharf Quays, the Spinnaker Tower and the Historic Dockyard, as well as a swimming pool complex, muliplex cinema, lots of museums, parks, play areas and splash pools - so there's plenty to do.  

We're well-connected. Southsea is just 80 minutes on the train to London, so you'd be in easy reach of all the attractions of the capital. Portsmouth has its own international ferry port, with daily ferries to France and Spain, and is a 30 minute drive from Southampton Airport. 

Although we are looking for our third exchange as a family, Charlotte is an intervac veteran having exchanged numerous times with her parents, who have been members for more than 20 years. 

Our home is a comfortable and characterful Victorian family house. The house has three bedrooms upstairs - one with a double bed and two with single beds. We have any additional single mattress so we could accommodate a family with three children. There is a family bathroom with a toilet, sink, bath and shower.  Downstairs, there are two separate large living areas - both with two comfortable sofas and TVs (with freeview). The lounge has a real open fire and a DVD player. The second living area is open plan to the kitchen/dining area. The kitchen/dining area has a table that seats six and huge doors that open onto a deck area and overlook the garden. The fully equipped kitchen has a large fridge-freezer, dishwasher and SMEG cooker. A small utility area off the kitchen has a washing machine and tumble drier, and leads through to a downstairs toilet. There is broadband wireless internet. 

The garden has two deck areas and some grass. We have two guinea pigs too but we can arrange for them to stay with a friend while we exchange.  

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • photographer and communications manager
  • photographer and communications manager

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Spain
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • USA

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Portsmouth is a waterfront city, with naval heritage, miles of beach and seafront, great shops, restaurants and other attractions, and is very well-connected to London. 
Our immediate neighbourhood is a quiet residential area of Southsea, full of Victorian and Edwardian period properties. We live two minutes from local shops including a small supermarket, a chemist and a florist.
The seafront is a 15 minute walk from our house. When you get there, you'll find four miles of pebble beaches and promenades, with facilities including mini golf, a boating lake, parks, play areas and a splash pool, tennis courts, beach volleyball, a funfair, a castle (built by Henry VIII), several museums, a swimming pool complex, and an aquarium. During the summer, there is live music every weekend at the bandstand and plenty of events and activities. www.visitportsmouth.co.uk has a good 'what's on' guide. 
There are lots of independent shops and restaurants in the centre of Southsea (15 minute walk), as well as a John Lewis and a Waitrose (quality supermarket) bigger stores in the city centre (20 minute walk), and huge designer outlet shopping area on the waterfront at Gunwharf Quays (ten minutes in the car or 15 minute bus ride). Gunwharf  Quays also has countless restaurants and bars, a multiplex cinema, and the 170m Spinnaker Tower. Visit www.gunwharf-quays.com for more information. Right next to Gunwharf, is the Historic Dockyard. Home to Nelson's Flagship, HMS Victory, the new Mary Rose Museum (opening spring/summer 2013) and other ships and museums. 
Outside the city, Portsmouth is surrounded by beautiful countryside. Woodland walks are within a 15 minute drive in the Forest of Bere, and the South Downs National Park and New Forest National Park are within easy reach (30-45minutes). 
Sandy beaches can be found further down the coast at West Witterings to the East or Bournemouth, Poole and Studland to the West, and attractions like Marwell Wildlife (zoological park) 45mins, Paulton's Park (theme park) 45 mins, Legoland (1h 45mins) are in easy reach. 
Portsmouth is well-connected. Our house is a 15 minute walk from the nearest station, and trains to London take 1h 35 mins so the attractions of the capital are easy to get to. Southampton airport is 30 minutes away, Gatwick and Heathrow are around 1 hour 30 minutes. 
Portsmouth is also an international port, with ferries to and from France, Spain and the Channel Islands. 

Occupation

  • photographer and communications manager
  • photographer and communications manager

Children

  • Girl - Age: 15
  • Girl - Age: 11

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 3 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: