Nijmegen, Netherlands

The living room

The living room

The river Waal with a view of the city centre early in the morning.

The river Waal with a view of the city centre early in the morning.


Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
April 24, 2024 - December 31, 2024 3 days

open for suggestions

April 24, 2024 - December 31, 2024 3 days

open for suggestions


Would love to visit UK, Austria, Scandinavia, Poland. But open to suggestions (destinations that can be reached by train or car). Short exchanges are welcome!

This spacious family home is located in a quiet residential area on the southern edge of Nijmegen. It is a lovely house, spacious and bright with 5 bedrooms. Two of these rooms have a sofa bed, 2 rooms are used daily as a room of one of the children and the largest bedroom serves as a 'master bedroom'. The garden faces south, on the north side there is another balcony. The bathroom has both a bathtub and a separate shower.
The house is located on the south side of Nijmegen, near (within cycling distance of) beautiful and very diverse nature reserves such as Heumensoord, the Hatertse Vennen. A little further away but still easily accessible by bike the Oiijpolder, or the hilly surroundings of Berg en Dal, the Reichswald. Nijmegen is a nice student city - also the oldest city in the Netherlands. Utrecht is 1hr away, Amsterdam 1,5 hrs.
Station and city center are within cycling distance (15 to 20 minutes). Several bus lines stop around the corner, supermarkets etc a few hundred meters away.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • director

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 9
  • Living Area: 150 m2
  • Total Area: 150 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 3


  • Non-smoking house
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • England, UK
  • Ireland
  • France
  • Denmark
  • United Kingdom
  • Scotland, UK
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Austria
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Belgium
  • Netherlands

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Weeze -

We live in a quiet neighbourhood with all facilities very nearby. The town centre & the river Waal is just 4,5 km from here - 15-20 minutes by bike or by bus. Nijmegen is a very friendly, openminded University city in the east of the Netherlands. The rest of the Netherlands is easily accessible by train (or other transport). (We have many forms of shared transport as well - e.g. electric bikes / scooters etc.).
In less then half an hour you're in Germany. Amsterdam is only 1,5 hours away. But much closer by you'll also find other interesting cities such as Arnhem, Eindhoven, Utrecht or Den Bosch.
Nijmegen is surrounded by many different landscape types - pefect for those who love to hike or bike! The city embraces the river Waal - you can enjoy it from one of the river beaches or by boat of course.
Nearby, in Berg en Dal, you'll find enchanting romantic woods on the hills - most Dutch find it very 'un-Dutch':).
Nijmegen is also the oldest city in the Netherlands - for those interested the Roman remains are still visible in the museum and (to some extent) in the city. What's not to love?

Translate this


  • director


  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Boy - Age: 13


  • cat (Abje)

About Our Family

We are a family of three; Monique (1978), Iggy (2007) and Tygo (2011) plus our cat Abje (2011). Abje is still quite fit, she's friendly and requires no special attention. However, she doesn't like other pets invading her terrritory ;). So unfortunately it's not possible to bring your dog or other pet in an exchange.

Translate this


We like being active, but also just rummaging around and taking life as it comes. Most of our furniture, clothes & other stuff come from vintage stores, flea markets or swaps - I love it when you just happen find this one thing you never knew you were looking for :). Good food is one of the best things in life, so our fridge and cupboards are usually well equipped. Please feel free to use it.
At least two of us are a bit of the chaotic types - that reflects in our household. If we plan an exchange we'll make sure the house is clean enough and tidy enough to receive you - but please don't expect 'hotel standards' in our house. Of course we are carefull with other people's belongings / house - so we will leave your house as we found it.

Translate this


This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: