Berlin, Germany


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


Family home in Berlin, Germany

We live in a big and bright flat in a quiet western part of Berlin, close to the Grunewald and the historic Olympia stadium. The flat has three kids' rooms: One with a queen size bed, one with a bunk bed for two kids and a daybed, and one small and cosy teenager room. Next to the living room is our space – a bright and spacious room where we sleep and work. The apartment includes a bathroom and a guest toilet as well as a kitchen which is equipped with (almost) everything you might need.

The house is a 100-year-old building without an elevator ( 4th floor!!!) or air-condition. But it has huge windows, a lot of sun, trees in front of the windows and enough space for a big family or group of friends. Of course we have toys for kids of different ages, a beamer to watch movies, games and a lot of books (mostly in German and English). The house is situated at a square with a playground where you can play football or table tennis or have a picnic.

In the vicinity you will find restaurants, supermarkets, small shops, a farmers market twice a week, pharmacies and so on. Bus, tube and S-Bahn stations are in walking distance (5-7 minutes). To the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) it takes around twenty minutes, about the same to Friedrichstraße (one of the many city centers).
Although Kreuzberg and Berlin Mitte, clubs and bar areas are easy to reach by public transport, our residential area is very quiet and you can easily go jogging, walking or even swimming in one of the many lakes south of Berlin. So if you need a break from the big city in between, you are quick to reach natural landscapes or even Potsdam, a lesser known but very pretty city with historical buildings like Sanssouci palace and picturesque views.
Closer than the bigger lakes like Schlachtensee ist the swimming pool in the old Olympia stadium (10 minutes by bike) and you can also reach the smaller Teufelssee (Devils Lake) by bike for a swim in summer (10-12 Minutes by bike).

We have bikes in different sizes and if you come by plane car exchange might also be possible. Bike, car, and scooter rentals are always nearby, too.

About us:
We - Clemens and Lea - have two daughters, Toscha (10 years old) and Orna (almost 3 years old), and a son, Amos (8 years old). We are both working on postdoc projects at university - Lea is a film and media studies scholar at the Film University Babelsberg, Clemens is a research associate and lecturer in Chinese studies at the University of Cologne. We love travelling both for professional reasons as well as for leisure. We have a lot of books and DVDs as well as a beamer for home cinema, bikes, and of course lots of kids' stuff...


Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • Research Associate (Postdoc)
  • Research Associate (Postdoc)

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 4
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 169 m2
  • Total Area: 169 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Piano


  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Portugal
  • Asia
  • California, USA
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Canada
  • Croatia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Berlin BER -


  • Research Associate (Postdoc)
  • Research Associate (Postdoc)


  • Girl - Age: 4
  • Girl - Age: 12
  • Boy - Age: 9


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 3 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: