Nijmegen, Netherlands

Our house in Nijmegen Lent (green door)

Our house in Nijmegen Lent (green door)

Our living room with view towards the kitchen

Our living room with view towards the kitchen




Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 20, 2024 - August 17, 2024 14 days

We are looking for an exchange in the summer of 2024 for the duration of two or, preferably, three weeks


House in Nijmegen, Netherlands

Since February 2016, we are living in our new home in Nijmegen Lent. Lent is the northern-most suburb of Nijmegen, located on the north border of the river Waal.

We live in a new area of Lent, a very child-friendly neighbourhood. There is a playground right in front of our house and reduced traffic, which makes it an excellent place for families with young children (ours are 7 (girl) and 10 (boy). Nijmegen city centre is easy to reach by car (10 minutes), bike (15 minutes), bus (10 minutes) or even by train (Lent has its own train station, easy connections to Arnhem, Nijmegen and Den Bosch and to other major Dutch cities: travel to Amsterdam will only take one and a half hour). Nijmegen has a direct train connection with Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The German Airport Weeze and Eindhoven airport are also nearby.

Our house has a garden with lots of sun during the day (and a sun screen ;), a the first floor, we have three bedrooms (two for the kids and one guest room/playroom) and a bath room with a bad and a separate shower; at the second floor you will find our master bedroom and a second bathroom.

Nijmegen is the oldest city of the Netherlands: and Nijmegen is located near the German border and has excellent connections by train and car with National Park De Hoge Veluwe (30m) , Utrecht (1h), Amsterdam (1h20m), and Cologne (1h40m).

The surroundings have much to offer: hiking and cycling in the meadows of the river Waal (5m by bike from our home), relaxing at the nearby pond, shopping in the city center of Nijmegen (10m by car). Nijmegen is a former Roman village; the Valkhof Museum exhibits this Ancient heritage:
Nijmegen is located in the southeast of the province of Gelderland, famous for its national parks and its many castles:

We are experienced ‘Intervac-ers’: over the past years we have exchanged homes with families in Germany, Switzerland (4x), France (2x) Sweden and Austria. Moreover, before we had a family of our own, we have spent several holidays with our parents/in-laws – who have over 30 years of Intervac-experience – exchanging homes with people from all across Europe.

We would prefer to exchange homes with people from Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Denmark and United Kingdom.


Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made


  • History Professor
  • Highschool Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground


  • Non-smoking house

Our Destination Wish List

  • Switzerland
  • Germany
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • Austria
  • Denmark

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Italiano
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

This clip gives you a nice overview of the city of Nijmegen:

Translate this


  • History Professor
  • Highschool Teacher


  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 14


  • In our backyard live Hannah's two one-year-old rabbits : Droppie and Grijzelientje.

About Our Family

We, Martine (44), Harm (44), Simon (14) and Hannah (11), live in Lent, Nijmegen. Martine teaches (ancient) Greek and Latin languages at a high school in Arnhem, Harm is a history professor at Radboud University in Nijmegen. We live in a very child-friendly neighbourhood with lots of families with young children.

We are looking forward to spending our holiday abroad, mixing relaxing and visiting the swimming pool with making trips to nearby cities, museums, interesting sites etc.

Translate this


This member has completed 9 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: