Carshalton, Great Britain

The Barn seen from the north

The Barn seen from the north

Willow archway into wildlife garden

Willow archway into wildlife garden

View from our front door

View from our front door

The Barn seen from the north Willow archway into wildlife garden View from our front door

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Beautiful Ecology Centre home, very close to central London

We live in Sutton Ecology Centre ( ).Carshalton has a good community atmosphere, with cafes, library, sports centre etc, large ponds and open spaces, but is very close to central London. There are great walks and cycle rides from our place, for example along the River Wandle and in the many parks and areas devoted to wildlife.
The Barn is modernised with a home cinema, a well-equipped kitchen and a jacuzzi bathtub in the family bathroom.
It takes just 25 minutes to reach the city centre by train, and the station is a short walk from our home. We spend much of our leisure time in the city. .
Carshalton makes a pleasant contrast with central London, and we have several artist friends living nearby (see ) The High Street is 5 minutes walk away, with friendly pubs and cafes, the old church is of architectural interest, and there is an excellent little local history museum, convenient shops and excellent transport links. We can recommend good Thai, Indian and Italian places to eat out. And of course there is the great British takeaway, Fish and Chips, served by friendly staff at Chipsmiths.

More detail about each room :
The main sitting room has a sofa - bed, chaise-longue, a grand piano, the solid fuel stove, and a 'home cinema' system.

An internal balcony within this room can be used as a third bedroom - we use it for guests.

There is a study room, with games and a music system, and It leads to the patio garden where we eat out in summer, have barbecues etc

In the main bedroom there's a super-king-size bed, and a corner bathroom. There is a TV and a computer, with free internet connection.
The second bedroom has two single beds, at the top of a wooden spiral staircase.

The kitchen - dining room is well-equipped as we love cooking, with a wooden table which can seat 8 or 9.
There is a recently renovated family bathroom with jacuzzi bath tub and good shower.
We have another little garden by the kitchen, where our rabbit, Penny, lives. (Neighbours can feed her if necessary.)
We also have a sociable little cat, Angel.


Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 16 Exchanges made


  • Academic & Puppeteer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy
  • United Kingdom

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Svenska


  • Academic & Puppeteer


  • Girl - Age: 19
  • Girl - Age: 23


  • A Rabbit
  • A cat


This member has completed 16 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: